- Purchasing and Activating Simply Fortran
- Using Simply Fortran
- The Simply Fortran Interface
- Editing in Simply Fortran
- Projects in Simply Fortran
- Building Projects
- Launching Projects
- Debugging Programs
- External Tools
- Version Control
- Options and Configuration
- Licensing
Toolbox Management
External tools can be configured by clicking the Configure Tools… in the Toolbox menu.
Selecting Tool Entry in the list on the left is used to create third-party tools. Alternatively, if tools already exist, the user can select them from the list.
The Name entry is the visible name of the tool within the Toolbox menu. The Command Line entry is the executable of the external tool. While this entry may contain the complete path to the executable, tools whose executables exist on the path do not require the full path. The Working Directory entry specifies the directory in which the external tool will be launched. This entry understands relative directories and assumes all relative directory specifications are relative to the project’s top-most directory. For example, if a project exists in C:\projects\ and the Working Directory entry specifies the src directory, the external tool will be launched in the C:\projects\src directory. Full paths may also be used for the Working Directory.
The tool may also be specified as a belonging to a specific project or a Global Tool, available regardless of project, via the appropriately named drop down box. Tool settings associated with projects are saved inside project files, while a Global Tool would be stored in Simply Fortran’s settings.
Tools have three console-related option. If a tool does not require a console to open, select “None” from the drop down. Tools that require a command window can use either an “External” window or “Internal” window, implemented via Simply Fortran’s integrated terminal. Note that the “Internal” option will not be available on versions of Windows prior to Windows 10.
The Run button will launch the external program currently specified in the Tool Entry panel. The Run button may be used regardless of whether the tool has been saved yet. The Save button will save any changes in the Tool Entry panel. The Delete button will delete the currently selected tool if the tool is an existing tool.
After closing the management window, the Toolbox menu will be updated appropriately.
