Home

Project Behavior

This panel controls how Simply Fortran loads and deals with projects. If the user needs to change the options of a particular project, the Project Options window should be opened.

Automatically Open Referenced Projects

When enabled, any projects referenced by a project being opened will also be opened in the same window. The referenced projects are always opened in the same window regardless of other settings on this panel via this option.

One Project Per Window

Enabling this option limits Simply Fortran to a single project per window. If a second project is opened, a new window will be opened or the current project will be replaced depending on the final option.

Replace Current Project

If Simply Fortran is limited to one project per window, enabling this feature will cause the current project to be closed when a new project is opened rather than opening a new Simply Fortran window.

Open Single Files in Current Window

When enabled, single Fortran files that are requested to be opened by the operating system by Simply Fortran should open in the existing, open window rather than starting another instance of Simply Fortran.

Ask to Copy External Files into Project Directory

This option will ask the user, whenever a file is added to a project that is not in the project directory or a subdirectory of the project directory, if the user wishes to copy the file from its current location into the current project directory.

Remove Missing Files During Synchronize with File System

When enabled, files that do not yet exist on disk or no longer exist on disk will be purged from the project when the menu option Synchronize with File System is selected. Files that have been deleted or not yet created will also be removed from the project listing.

Perform Clean When Project Options Change

When this option is enabled, changing project options at any time via the Project Options window will cause Simply Fortran to perform Clean operation on the current project. This feature ensures any changed project options will be applied to all source files, avoiding the situation where pre-existing object files do not currently reflect the new project options.

Save All Project Files Before Build

This options causes Simply Fortran to save any open files included in a project prior to building the project to ensure any changes currently in editors are written to disk prior to compiling. When enabled, clicking the Build Project button, selecting “Build Project” from the Build menu, or triggering a build via other methods will cause all editor tabs and the project itself to be saved first.

Default Project Folder

This option allows the user to specify the directory where Simply Fortran will place new projects by default when creating a new project.

File System Synchronize Ignored Patterns

This list allows the user to specify patterns for filenames and directory names or specific file and directory names to be excluded when attempting to synchronize a project with the file system.